Contact Us today! 425.765.0487

Felony DUIs and Firearms. SB 6163

Felony DUI and Firearms.

Alcohol 20and 20guns

In Washington state, there are several ways in which an individual could be charged with felony DUI.  If a person has previously been convicted of a Vehicular Homicide or Vehicular Assault, by way of Driving Under the Influence, any subsequent DUI arrest will be charged as a felony.  In those instances however, the prior conviction (for Vehicular Homicide or Assault) is a prior violent felony as defined by Washington law.  Consequently, individuals with prior convictions such as this are often precluded from possessing a firearm under Washington law due to these violent felonies alone. 

Yet some individuals in Washington state can be charged with a felony DUI simply because they have been arrested for other non-felony DUIs in the past.  Under current Washington law, any individual who has been charged with their 4th DUI in the last 10 years will also be charged as a felon.  

If passed, SB 6163 would require that any person simply charged with felony DUI be required to forfeit all firearms pending the outcome of the case.  Current law requires that anyone charged with a violent felony (murder, manslaughter, vehicular homicide or assault, robbery, assault, rape, etc) be ordered to surrender any firearm while the matter is pending.  This would mark a departure from current Washington law as no case currently holds that DUI alone, constitutes a violent offense.  

Nothing in this law affects anyone convicted of a Felony DUI in that they will lose their right to possess a firearm as being a convicted felon.  

You can track SB 6163 and read the entire bill right here,

Bearing arms is your right, protecting your family is your responsibility.

In order to truly protect those you love, you must know all your rights, responsibilities and obligations as a gun owner. We have nearly 20 years dealing with firearms matters and the answer to nearly every question you may have is right here.

425.765.0487

Menu