STATE CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION - Article 1, Section 24.
“The right of the individual citizen to bear arms in defense of himself, or the state, shall not be impaired, but nothing in this section shall be construed as authorizing individuals or corporations to organize, maintain or employ an armed body of men.”
There is no greater form of protection, and no greater area of responsibility than concealed carry. Choosing to carry a concealed firearm is an important decision and one that should come with proper education and training. This includes familiarizing yourself with our State's laws as it relates to how to obtain a concealed pistol license (CPL in Washington) and where you can and cannot carry. The following should answer just about any imaginable question, but if you do require more information, please contact us at: 425-765-0487.
Washington's Concealed Pistol License
Washington's Concealed Pistol License
Washington is a shall issue state, meaning the state is required to furnish a permit if you can pass a background check. Only those age 21 and over are permitted to obtain a concealed license (CPL). Washington issues concealed carry permits to residents of the state as well as non-residents. All fees for non-residents are the same but the waiting period is extended to 60 days.
How To Get a CPL.
Who issues Washington concealed weapon permits?
The police chief or sheriff of the area where you reside, or anywhere in the state for a non-resident. Therefore, if you reside within city limits, the permit will be issues by the municipal police department. If you reside in unincorporated portions of your county, the County Sheriff will furnish your permit.
Are background checks required for a Washington Concealed Weapon Permit?
Background checks are required when applying for a Washington concealed carry permit, but it does not qualify as a NICS check.
How long is a Washington Concealed Pistol License Valid For?
The Washington concealed weapon permit shall be valid throughout the state for a period of five (5) years from the date of issuance.
What is the processing time for a Washington Concealed Pistol License?
Washington concealed weapon permits are processed in approximately 30 days for those possessing a Washington driver's license and 90 days without one.
How much does a Washington Concealed Pistol License cost?
The fee for a Washington concealed weapon permit is $48.00.
What are the requirements for a Washington Concealed Pistol License?
- Be 21 years of age or older at time of application.
- Be a United States citizen or a permanent resident alien with permanent resident card or “green card.”
- Have no pending trial, appeal, or sentencing on a charge that would prohibit you from having a license.
- Have no outstanding warrants for any charge, from any court.
- Have no court order or injunction against possessing a firearm.
- Have no mental health conditions that would prohibit you from having a license.
- Have no felony convictions, or adjudications for a felony offense, in this state or elsewhere. “Felony” means any felony offense under the laws of Washington, or any federal or out-of-state offense comparable to a felony offense under the laws of Washington.
- Have no convictions for any of the following crimes committed by one family member against another on or after July 1, 1993:
- Assault IV
- Reckless Endangerment
- Criminal Trespass in the first degree
- Violation of the provisions of a protection order or no-contact order restraining the person or excluding the person from the residence
What are the required documents when applying for a Washington Concealed Pistol License?
- Picture identification such as a Washington State driver license or identification card. If you don't have a Washington State driver license or identification card, you must provide proof you have lived in the state for at least the last 90 days.
- The fee in cash, check, or money order made payable to the law enforcement agency. Understand that many municipalities have processing fees that will increase the price from the original $48.00. The fee is non-refundable.
- If you're in the military, your military ID and orders listing your station location.
Where Do I Apply for My CPL?
- If you live in the unincorporated area of a county apply at your sheriff's office.
- If you live in an incorporated city within the county, apply at either the city police department or sheriff's office.
- If you aren't a Washington State resident, apply at any local law enforcement agency in Washington.
Your Responsibilities as a Washington CPL Holder.
What do I need to bring when I renew my Washington concealed weapon permit?
- Picture identification such as a Washington driver license or identification card.
- Your current concealed pistol license.
How do I change my name or address on my Washington concealed weapon permit?
- The process to change the address on your concealed pistol license is the same as when you first applied, except you won't be fingerprinted:
- Go to the law enforcement agency where you currently live.
- Complete an application, marking the “Replacement” box.
- Submit the application with the replacement fee.
What do I do if my Washington concealed weapon permit is lost or stolen?If your license has been lost, stolen or destroyed, you may obtain a replacement concealed pistol license from your local law enforcement agency. You will need to apply in person and the fee for a replacement license is $10.
Do I need to inform law enforcement that I am carrying a concealed weapon?
You are not statutorily required to inform law enforcement you are carrying a weapon in the state of Washington, but you must present your permit if requested.
Where You Can Carry With a CPL.
Do I need a CPL to carry a firearm in my car in Washington?
Without a Washington concealed weapon permit, your firearm must be unloaded. If you leave the firearm in your vehicle the vehicle must be locked and the pistol must be out of view. A CPL holder can store a loaded firearm in the vehicle so long as the firearm is concealed in some fashion.
What places are off-limits when carrying a concealed weapon in Washington?
(Jails). Any adult correctional facilities or any other facility that is used to house inmates, detainees or those currently awaiting trial. Restricted access areas do not include common areas of egress or ingress open to the general public
(Courthouses). Any State, County or Municipal Courthouse or any facility, public or private, that is holding court proceedings. This will include any government office in which administrative hearing, dependency proceedings, or appellate proceedings take place. The government authority, however, shall provide a designated locked area for owners to leave their firearms when entering the premise. The owner shall then have their firearms returned upon exiting the building. The local judicial authority shall designate and clearly mark those areas where weapons are prohibited and shall post notices at each entrance to the building of the prohibition against weapons in the restricted areas.
(Schools) The property of any public or private elementary and secondary school. This includes the entire premise.
(Mental Health Institutions). The restricted access areas of a public mental health facility certified by the department of social and health services for inpatient hospital care and state institutions for the care of the mentally ill, excluding those facilities solely for evaluation and treatment. Restricted access areas do not include common areas of egress and ingress open to the general public.
- EXCEPTION: this section does not apply to any administrator or employee of the facility or to any person who, upon entering the place or facility, directly and promptly proceeds to the administrator of the facility or the administrator's designee and obtains written permission to possess the firearm while on the premises.
(Bars and Taverns). Any establishment where alcohol or liquor is the primary commodity for sale or those portions of an establishment classified by the state liquor control board as off-limits to persons under twenty-one years of age. Essentially any bar, tavern, pub, tasting room or cocktail lounge. This does not apply to the owner of such establishment or their employees while engaged in their employment.
(Airports). The restricted access areas of commercial airport designated by the airport and approved by the federal transportation security administration, including passenger screening checkpoints. These areas do not include airport drives, general parking areas and walkways, and shops and areas of the terminal that are outside the screening checkpoints and that are normally open to unscreened passengers or visitors to the airport. Any restricted access area shall be clearly indicated by prominent signs indicating that firearms and other weapons are prohibited in the area.
(Other Venues). Cities, towns, counties, and other municipalities may enact laws and ordinances restricting the possession of firearms in any stadium, concert venue or convention center.
What are the laws regarding alcohol and a concealed weapon in Washington?
In Washington, you may carry a concealed firearm in a restaurant that serves alcohol but not in the portion of the facility licensed for that purpose by the state liquor board. You may not possess a firearm in a bar, tavern, pub, tasting room, cocktail lounge or any other facility where alcohol is the primary commodity for sale.
Does Washington state have localities with varying laws?
Localities can enact prohibitions about judicial areas but otherwise are limited.
Open Carry in Washington State.
What are the laws regarding open carry in Washington?
Open carry in Washington is not restricted by state law (other than those places listed above where concealed carry is prohibited). It is strongly recommended that you avoid any appearance of threatening someone i.e. handling your gun idling, etc. as this could result in arrest and prosecution.
Attorney General and CPLs. http://www.atg.wa.gov/firearms-faq#Prohibited%20carry
Washington DOL and CPLs. http://www.dol.wa.gov/business/firearms/faconceal.html